

HERITAGE COMMITTEE

Recommendation: proposed naming of science laboratories

- 1. The Head of the College's Physical Sciences department, Mr Rod Macdonald, has submitted a proposal that laboratories C4 and P4 in the Deane Yates Centre be named after Mr Nkhangweni William Raphulu and Mr Hlengani Thomas Kubayi respectively. A copy of the proposal is enclosed.
- 2. Mr Kubayi has been working as a laboratory technician at the College since 1982 (i.e. for more than 37 years), and Mr Raphulu has been doing so since 1984 (i.e. longer than 35 years). Both Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu will be retiring during the course of this year. It is intended that the naming of the laboratories after them will be a means of giving them recognition for their loyal and proficient service to the College over a protracted period of time.
- 3. The Heritage Committee supports the proposal and hereby recommends to Council that the proposal be accepted and implemented. In the Heritage Committee's view, the proposal meets the criteria set out in the applicable naming guidelines in that:
 - 3.1. both Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu have made significant contributions, through distinguished service, to the College, and such contributions deserve to be acknowledged in a tangible and enduring manner by naming the relevant laboratories after them; and
 - 3.2. naming the laboratories after Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu will self-evidently contribute to the transformation and diversification of the College.
- 4. In addition, persons who are familiar with Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu, and who have observed them going about their business at the College, will know that their service to the College extends beyond the proficient and diligent manner in which they have discharged their responsibilities in the Physical Sciences department. Of equal significance is the dignified and gentlemanly manner in which they have always interacted with staff members and College students. Through their conduct and demeanour both Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu have set admirable examples to many hundreds (if not thousands) of College boys, who would be well-advised to emulate such conduct and demeanour. In addition, both Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu have demonstrated great loyalty to the College through their enduring commitment to its ethos and values.

5. Although the naming guidelines contemplate that Council will generally only name a College place after a particular person posthumously, that is not an inflexible rule. The guidelines indicate that exceptions may be made in this regard. As a matter of fact, there are recent examples of College places being named after deserving persons while they were still alive: the Hugh Lewin Block, Tutu

Quadrangle, the Willie Young maths common room, and the Owen Nkumane embankment. It is submitted that, in the present instance there are no reasons that militate against naming the

science laboratories after Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu while they are still alive.

6. As stated above, Mr Kubayi has been working at the College for more than 37 years, while Mr

Raphulu has been working at the College for longer than 35 years. By way of comparison, Ms Kate Byrne has been on the College staff for 39 years, Mr Patson Moshidi for 36 years, and Dr Ben Oosthuizen for 35 years. Mr Isaac Mahlare worked for the College for 50 years (1922 – 1972), as

did Mr Cliff Midgley (after whom the Geography department in the Alan Wilcock Vulindlela Block

was named). In due course, appropriate means of acknowledging the contributions of people

such as Mr Mahlare, Ms Byrne, Mr Moshidi and Dr Oosthuizen should be considered.

7. The naming guidelines state that, as a general proposition (although not necessarily as a hard and

fast rule), the College will not name more than one College place after the same person. The term

"College place" is defined as including physical assets of the College. In this regard:

7.1. Two College rowing boats were named after Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu a few years ago.

7.2. The naming of boats occurs on the basis of a staff member's number of years of service to the College, as well as the fact that he or she has made a considerable contribution to the

rowing club. It was on this basis that the boats were named after Mr Kubayi and Mr Raphulu.

7.3. The proposed naming of the two science laboratories after them is intended to give recognition to their respective contributions to the Physical Sciences department specifically

over the past 35 years. There is a precedent for this, in that laboratory C7 in the Deane Yates

Centre is named after Mr Mick Badham, who was the head of the Physical Sciences

department for some years.

7.4. Rowing boats have a limited lifespan, and do not constitute part of the College's permanent

infrastructure. If a boat is decommissioned it may or may not be replaced; if a boat named

after a particular person is replaced, it will not necessarily be named after the same person.

7.5. In the circumstances, Council is requested to make an exception to the abovementioned

general rule, on the basis that there are good grounds for doing so in this instance.

8. Accordingly, the Heritage Committee respectfully requests Council to approve the proposal.

D. M. Pretorius

Chairman: Heritage Committee

3 February 2020