St John's College

Fifty-six St John's College and Sixth Form students, out of 126 volunteers, dedicated a week of their April holidays to complete the Golden Eagle Residential Project in Parys, Free State, facilitated by Sarah Welton-Blake from CommunityHours SA. Their activities included painting an ECD in Lawley, baking for the needy at Hartshuis, spending time with the elderly at Ebenezer Hannah, converting a store room into a classroom in Vredefort, hosting a 'dignity shop' for indigent adults, renovating a room at Hartshuis, coaching soccer for Tumahole children, working at the Parys SPCA, making chairs from recycled pallets, clearing litter from the Vaal riverbanks, and washing cars to raise funds for the local Epilepsy Centre.

The week was productive and included river rafting, stargazing, a talk by child rights advocate Luke Lamprecht, and evening fun and games at their base at Hadeda Creek. This resulted in significant personal growth and learning outside their comfort zones.

The Golden Eagle is awarded to students who spend a minimum of five days away from home in an unfamiliar place and with students they don't normally associate with while performing community service projects to assist the underprivileged.

St John's is proud to present this prestigious award to the following deserving students:

Liam Batley (LV Clayton), Menzi Bongwe (LV Nash), Christiaan Bonnet (UVI Runge), Gregory Bradley (UIV Runge), Matthew Bradley (LVI Runge), Joss Busa (LV Clayton), Pietro Carnelli (LV Thomson), Chifunilo Chakwawa (UV Nash), Leo Chen (LV Clayton), Tawananyasha Chinoruma (LVI Runge), Atli Chipu (LV Clayton), Jordan Cooper (UV Hill), Kael de Goede (LV Fleming), Allegra Dorrestein (UVI Runge), Malan Du Plessis (LV Alston), Zac Erasmus (UV Alston), Mgcini Fuyane (UV Hodgson), Nahum Gebermariam (LV Alston), Siza Gule (LV Nash), Misha Gumede (UV Hodgson), Tim Jewell (UV Hodgson), Nhlanhla Kheswa (LV Hodgson), Sean Li (LVI Runge), Jack Logan (LV Hodgson), Raquel Madley (UVI Runge), Vusumuzi Mahlasela (UV Hill), Khumo Mapaya (LV Hodgson), Amahle Mbele (UV Clayton), Owethu Mbuyane (UV Thomson), Michael Meyer (LV Nash), Olethinala Mgeyane (LV Clayton), Lethabo Mokoka (UV Hodgson), Lehlohonolo Molwantoa (LV Hodgson), Morongoa Monale (LVI Runge), Luke Morris (LV Hill), Kearabetswe Moseki (UV Clarke), Ntsebeng Mosia (UV Hodgson), Tapiwanashe Mutetwa (LVI Clayton), Andile Nkumane (LV Clayton), Alexi Papadopoulos (LV Fleming), Tungamirai Pasipanodya (LV Nash), Aryan Patel (LVI Runge), Jaden Paxton (LV Fleming), Lucy Pretorius (LVI Runge), Ethan Ramsbotham (LV Thomson), Cooper Rana (LV Clayton), Tendani Raphulu (LVI Runge), Nicholas Searle (LV Hill), Lonwabo Stevens (UV Clayton), Kamogelo Thobejane (LV Nash), Matthew Thomson (LV Fleming), Masana Tshabalala (LVI Runge), Schalk van der Merwe (LV Hodgson), Luca Van Tonder (LV Clarke), Gerald Van Wyk (LV Hodgson), and James Yuill (LV Hodgson).