St John's College

The College provides an expansive and holistic approach to education for pupils from Grade 8 to matric. Through fostering and promoting a sense of mutual respect, self-discipline and confidence, the boys are given every opportunity to prepare themselves for the world beyond St John’s College.

The College operates on a house system, and is divided into eight houses: four boarding houses, Nash, Hill, Clayton and Hodgson; and four day-boy houses, Thomson, Alston, Clarke and Fleming House. 

Each house has its own common room and Housemaster’s study. Boarders have their own well-equipped cubicles and seniors have their own rooms.

The Housemaster is assisted by elected prefects and members of staff who act as house tutors. They maintain close contact with the boys under their care.

Two full-time chaplains and an educational psychologist are available for consultations by pupils and parents.

The Headmaster is assisted by the Second Master. The Headmaster is a member of the College Council, which also comprises four members of the Parents’ Association and two members of the Old Johannian Association. The other members include leading academics, professionals and business people, one member of the academic staff and the Head of School. 

The business manager heads the financial office and the estate manager has the maintenance of the grounds and buildings under his care.

The Bishop of Johannesburg is The Visitor.